• Online, Instructor-Led
Course Description

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC), managed by the CMMC Accreditation Body (CMMC-AB), is a program through which an organization's cybersecurity program maturity is measured by their initial and ongoing compliance with applicable cybersecurity practices, as well as their integration of corresponding policies and plans into their overall business operations. By Fiscal Year 2026, all organizations providing products or services to the United States Department of Defense (DoD) must obtain at least a CMMC Level 1 certification under this program.

This course prepares students for the CMMC-AB Certified CMMC Professional (CCP) certification, which authorizes the holder to use the CMMC-AB Certified CMMC Professional logo, to participate as an Assessment Team Member under the supervision of a Certified CMMC Assessor, and to be listed in the CMMC-AB Marketplace. The CCP certification is also prerequisite for the other Certified CMMC Assessor certifications (CCA-1, CCA-3, and CCA-5).

Learning Objectives

In this course, you will learn about the CMMC Model, framework, context, and application within the DoD, as well as the expectations and requirements imposed upon organizations that do business with the DoD. It will also help students to identify threats to cybersecurity and privacy within an IoT ecosystem and implement appropriate countermeasures.

You will:

Identify the threats to the defense supply chain and the established regulations and standards for managing the risk.
Identify the sensitive information that needs to be protected within the defense supply chain and how to manage it.
Describe how the CMMC Model ensures compliance with federal acquisitions regulations.
Identify responsibilities of the Certified CMMC Professional, including appropriate ethical behavior.
Establish the Certification and Assessment scope boundaries for evaluating the systems that protect regulated information.
Evaluate OSC readiness and determine the Evidence you intend to present to the assessor.
Use the CMMC Assessment Guides to assess the Evidence for processes and practices.
Implement and evaluate practices required to meet CMMC Level 1.
Identify processes and practices required to meet CMMC Levels 2 and 3.
Identify processes and practices required to meet CMMC Levels 4 and 5.
As a CCP, work through the logistics of a CMMC Assessment

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.