• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

Waterfall is the traditional sequential software development model. Waterfall is the most widely used software development model, historically, and while Agile methods are gaining traction, these methods still use some elements of Waterfall. This course covers the Application Development Lifecycle (ADLC) approach, then goes on to the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) approach, and finally completes the sequence by contrasting traditional waterfall development with iterative approaches, such as Agile.

Learning Objectives

The Application Development Lifecycle

  • start the course
  • describe the Application Development Lifecycle (ADLC) in Software Practices (Waterfall)
  • use Application Development Lifecycle Startup phases in Software Practices (Waterfall)
  • use the Operation and Maintenance phase in Software Practices (Waterfall)

Software Development Lifecycle

  • describe the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) framework in Software Practices (Waterfall)
  • use the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) Umbrella Tasks in Software Practices (Waterfall)
  • use the SDLC Analysis phase of Waterfall
  • implement the Waterfall SDLC Design phase
  • describe the Implementation phase of software development in Waterfall
  • use the Validation phase in Waterfall
  • implement the Deployment phase of Waterfall
  • calculate the cost of change using a Waterfall software development model

Sequential, Iterative and Agile Models

  • use the sequential approach to software modeling in Waterfall
  • use the different sequential approach software models
  • use the iterative approach during software development
  • describe the values, practices and processes of the Agile Development Model

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.