• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

Network Load Balancing (NLB) and failover clustering are features of Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2, which provide different levels of fault tolerance, high availability, and scalability to the workloads in your data center. NLB provides availability and scalability for servers running TCP/IP services, such as Web, FTP, firewall, proxy and VPN. Failover clustering provides high availability and scalability for services and applications. Both technologies, their key features, differences, usage scenarios, deployment, and configurations are covered in this course. This course is part of a series of Skillsoft courses that cover the objectives for exam 70-412 Configuring Advanced Windows Server 2012 Services. This exam is required for the MCSA Windows Server 2012 certification.

Learning Objectives

Network Load Balancing

  • determine the most suitable Affinity mode to configure in a given scenario
  • choose the best operation mode to configure in a given scenario
  • recognize how to configure an NLB cluster in a given scenario


Failover Clustering

  • recognize quorum nodes
  • describe the requirements for failover clustering
  • determine the most likely cause of a cluster-related problem
  • describe the tasks implemented by Cluster-Aware Updating
  • configure high availability


Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.