• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

Failover clustering and Network Load Balancing (NLB) are features of Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 that provide different levels of fault tolerance, high availability, and scalability to the workloads in a data center, all of which contribute to business continuity. Failover clustering provides high availability for services and applications. NLB provides availability and scalability for servers running TCP/IP services. This course covers the planning and implementation of each technology as well as identifying their key features, differences, usage scenarios, deployment, and configurations. This course is part of a series of Skillsoft courses that cover the objectives for exam 70-414: Implementing an Advanced Server Infrastructure. This exam is required for the MCSE Server Infrastructure certification.

Learning Objectives

Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery

  • define elements of a service-level agreement
  • associate Windows Server 2012 roles with their recovery requirements

Highly Available Storage Solutions

  • identify the types of media that are supported in Storage Spaces
  • identify the limitations of Clustered Storage Spaces
  • describe how to perform maintenance on a server hosting a target folder

Highly Available Server Roles

  • distinguish between DHCP failover modes
  • identify the workloads suitable for high availability technologies
  • identify the properties of Scale-Out File Servers
  • identify the steps to configure System Center 2012 R2 Data Protection Manager
  • describe how to plan for business continuity with Windows Server 2012 R2

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the NICE Framework Task, Knowledge, and Skill statements identified within the indicated NICE Framework component(s):

Specialty Areas

  • Network Services
  • Systems Administration
  • Systems Development