• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

Failover clustering and Network Load Balancing (NLB) are features of Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2, which provide different levels of fault tolerance, high availability, and scalability to the workloads in your data center. Failover clustering provides high availability for services and applications. NLB provides availability and scalability for servers running TCP/IP services. This course covers the planning and implementation of each technology as well as identifying their key features, differences, usage scenarios, deployment, and configurations. The course is part of a series of Skillsoft courses that cover the objectives for exam 70-414: Implementing an Advanced Server Infrastructure. This exam is required for the MCSE Server Infrastructure.

Learning Objectives

Failover clustering

  • identify components and advantages of a failover cluster
  • identify the requirements for failover clustering with Windows Server 2012 R2
  • identify the order of failover clustering implementation steps
  • identify recommended approaches to Cluster-Aware Updating
  • identify the principles of multisite failover clusters in Windows Server 2012 R2

Network Load Balancing

  • identify considerations of planning an NLB cluster in a given scenario
  • identify affinity options to use when deploying an NLB cluster in a given scenario
  • plan and implement failover clustering and Network Load Balancing

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the NICE Framework Task, Knowledge, and Skill statements identified within the indicated NICE Framework component(s):

Specialty Areas

  • Network Services
  • Systems Administration
  • Systems Development