• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

Visual Studio 2015 is the de facto standard for software development on the Windows platform. With its extensive expandability, it can be enhanced and extended to suit almost any developer need or paradigm. In this course, you will become familiar with Visual Studio 2015 components. You will also begin to develop simple applications.

Learning Objectives


  • start the course
  • describe the current state of the .NET architecture
  • install Microsoft Visual Studio on your workstation
  • continue to use Visual Studio beyond the trial period
  • recognize the main features of the Visual Studio IDE
  • sign in to Visual Studio
  • use different VS accounts for different purposes
  • view and act on notification events in Visual Studio

Personalizing Visual Studio

  • tailor your Visual Studio install to your tastes
  • view and act on notification events in Visual Studio
  • add and edit menus, toolbars, and actions in Visual Studio
  • start using the Visual Studio IDE
  • arrange the panels in Visual Studio to suit your workflow
  • modify the Visual Studio start page
  • integrate external tools into your Visual Studio installation
  • synchronize Visual Studio settings across workstations
  • use Visual Studio Team Services and Foundation Server

Start Developing with Visual Studio

  • begin work on a new Visual Studio project
  • use the Visual Studio IDE features when writing code
  • compile code into executable applications in Visual Studio
  • test code for correctness in Visual Studio
  • troubleshoot and debug issues in code in Visual Studio
  • locate performance issues in code in Visual Studio
  • use cloud solutions within Visual Studio projects
  • connect to and manage data stored in databases
  • prepare your application for release
  • install or develop Visual Studio extensions

Practice: Writing and Building Code

  • write and compile a simple application

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.