• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

Apache HBase is a NoSQL column-oriented database that provides big data storage for semi-structured data. It runs on HDFS and ZooKeeper and can be integrated with MapReduce. In a column-oriented database, data in a column is stored together using column families rather than in a row. The physical architecture uses a Master-Slave relationship and distributes the data in a cluster-like format. This course will show how to install HBase and discuss the HBase architecture and data modeling designs.

Learning Objectives


  • start the course
  • describe HBase and its features
  • identify the hardware requirements for HBase
  • identify the software requirements for HBase
  • describe the filesystems used for HBase
  • describe the different HBase installation modes
  • install HBase in local mode
  • install HBase in fully distributed mode
  • access and navigate the web-based management console for HBase
  • get started with using the HBase shell


  • describe the HBase components and their functionalities
  • describe the HFile and Region components and their functionalities in the HBase architecture
  • describe the functionality of the WAL and MemStore in an HBase architecture
  • describe minor and major compaction and region splitting
  • describe how data replication is used in HBase
  • identify the various methods to access HBase through clients
  • secure HBase using authentication and authorization methods
  • describe MapReduce and how it is integrated with HBase

Data Modeling

  • describe the HBase schema
  • identify the considerations and practices that go into designing an HBase table
  • design rowkeys for HBase tables
  • design the schema to support versions, different datatypes, and joins
  • determine which rows and cells to keep after deletion from a table

Practice: Install HBase

  • install, configure, and secure HBase

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.