• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

The Exchange Server 2010 Design course from LearnKey prepares IT professionals to analyze business messaging requirements and design an appropriate Exchange Server 2010 messaging infrastructure. Expert instructor Joe Mullarkey takes you through analysis and design of Active Directory integration, Exchange Server 2010 infrastructure, routing topology, and security. Your working knowledge of networking principles and Internet protocols or experience with Windows Server 2008 and 2008 R2 will put you on the path to a successful experience and prepare you for MCITP exam 70-663.

Learning Objectives

Section A: Introduction

  • Course Prerequisites
  • Exam Overview
  • Certification Path
  • Exchange Editions

Section B: Exchange and Active Directory

  • Active Directory
  • Global Catalog Servers Defined
  • Info and Config Storage Locations
  • Exchange Prerequisites
  • Single vs. Multiple Forests
  • Resource Forest Defined
  • Cross-Forest Trust Defined
  • Federated Trust Defined
  • Site Design Considerations
  • Design and Deployment Suggestions
  • Preparing Active Directory

Section C: Exchange and DNS

  • Multiple DNS Namespaces
  • Single DNS Namespace

Section D: Exchange 2010 Server Roles

  • Server Roles
  • Understanding Mail Delivery
  • Role Interaction
  • Mailbox Server
  • Hub Transport Server
  • Client Access Server
  • Unified Messaging Server
  • Unified Messaging Communications
  • Edge Transport Server
  • Installing Roles
  • Updating Exchange

Section E: Mailbox Server Role

  • Mailbox Services
  • New Features
  • Storage
  • Database Disks
  • Files
  • Database and Log Folder Paths

Section F: Mailbox Sizing and Memory

  • Storage Changes
  • Designing Mailbox Databases
  • Sizing Mailbox Databases
  • Other Mailbox Sizing Factors
  • Sizing Log Folder
  • Mailbox Server Memory
  • Designing for DAGs

And much more!

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.