• Online, Self-Paced
  • Classroom
  • Online, Instructor-Led
Course Description

The Globally Harmonized System (GHS) is an international approach to hazard communication, providing agreed criteria for classification of chemical hazards, and a standardized approach to label elements and safety data sheets. The GHS was negotiated in a multi-year process by hazard communication experts from many different countries, international organizations, and stakeholder groups. It is based on major existing systems around the world, including OSHA’s Hazard Communication Standard and the chemical classification and labeling systems of other US agencies. The result of this negotiation process is the United Nations’ document entitled “Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals,” commonly referred to as The Purple Book. This document provides harmonized classification criteria for health, physical, and environmental hazards of chemicals. It also includes standardized label elements that are assigned to these hazard classes and categories, and provide the appropriate signal words, pictograms, and hazard and precautionary statements to convey the hazards to users. A standardized order of information for safety data sheets is also provided.

Learning Objectives

  • Introduction & Background
    • Hazard Communication & GHS
    • Required Elements
    • The scope of the GHS
  • Three Categories of Hazards
    • What are GHS Hazards?
    • GHS Physical Hazards:
    • GHS Health Hazards
    • GHS Environmental Hazards
  • Safety Data Sheets
    • Role of the SDS in the GHS
    • SDS Format: 16 headings
  • Labeling
    • Label Elements
  • Pictograms
    • Exclamation Mark
    • Health Hazard
    • Flame
    • Gas Cylinder
    • Corrosion
    • Exploding Bomb
    • Flame over Circle
    • Skull & Crossbones
    • Environmental
  • Summary

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.