• Online, Self-Paced
Course Description

While managing risk, the RMF framework can also help an organization to select appropriate security controls, to balance security and functionality for a safe and seamless end-user experience. The framework is made up of six steps, system categorization, selection of controls, implementation, assessment, authorization, and monitoring those controls. But the key to each of these steps is the preparation put into each component, which determines the success of the framework. One of the main problems which can occur when trying to implement a security program, are the issues between the Information Technology (IT) and Security teams. Each team has different objectives but must meet in the middle to accommodate user needs, as well as the needs of the business. RMF does not have to just be for federal organizations, it can be integrated into any information security program, to ensure effective and efficient security practices. Each step will be described in detail, including mention of supplemental documentation, who will be involved at each stage, and how to integrate each component into a security program. The RMF steps are meant to help streamline the Authorization to Operation, or ATO, process. When implemented correctly, security processes will be aligned to meet functionality and security with the IT and Security teams. The Art of Exploitation is one of the most sophisticated attacks in Ethical Hacking. In this course, students will learn from scratch how to find a vulnerability or weakness in any system. Check for the right exploit to hack the system using this vulnerability, instead of using some kiddie script or waiting for a victim mistake clinking on a malicious link or attachment. Students will also learn how to write their one exploit using python script and use it to hack system affected with Buffer Overflow. What is Risk Management? It is defined as the forecasting and evaluation of risks together with the identification of procedures to avoid or minimize their impact. What will I learn? Risk Management best practices, How and why it's essential to identify mission critical systems, and the loss impact of critical systems should failure occur. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) established the Risk Management Framework (RMF) as a set of operational and procedural standards or guidelines that a US government agency must follow to ensure the compliance of its data systems. RMF originally was designed to benefit Department of Defense (DoD) military, civilian, and contractor personnel who are responsible for evaluating information systems under the RMF and certifying to the Government that information systems meet security requirements. Because managing risk is a critical concept for organizations that house sensitive data, entities outside of the public sector have taken notice of the effectiveness of RMF practices. Prerequisites Individuals who wish to take this course should be team leads in the IT or Security sectors, senior management, or executive management looking to implement, or improve, RMF use in their organizations. Users should already have a basic understanding of the NIST Risk Management Framework before taking this course. Users should also be familiar with the accompanying NIST Special Publication guides, as outlined in the supplemental material section.

Learning Objectives

This course will discuss the NIST Risk Management Framework (RMF) from an executive perspective. Each module will not only address each step in the RMF process, but how this process can be implemented into your organization or business.

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the NICE Framework Task, Knowledge, and Skill statements identified within the indicated NICE Framework component(s):

Specialty Areas

  • Risk Management
  • Vulnerability Assessment and Management
  • Cyber Operational Planning