• Classroom
  • Online, Instructor-Led
Course Description

This course is for those looking to enhance their cybersecurity knowledge and can be used for training towards ISACA’s® Cybersecurity NeXus (CSX) Fundamentals Certificate. It provides a foundational look at today’s cybersecurity landscape and the tools to evaluate and manage security controls in information systems. The CSX Cybersecurity Fundamentals certificate and related training are ideal for IS/IT practitioners, students and recent graduates to build knowledge of cybersecurity or get started on a career in the field. It is essential for professionals in any organizational role who wish to learn the fundamentals of cybersecurity and pursue a career in this booming field. This knowledge is in high demand, as cyberthreats continue to impact virtually every field of information systems and enterprises around the world.

Learning Objectives

Upon Completion of this course, you will be able to:

  • explain the core information assurance (IA) principles; 
  • identify the key components of cybersecurity network architecture;
  • apply cybersecurity architecture principles;
  • describe risk management processes and practices;
  • identify security tools and hardening techniques;
  • distinguish system and application security threats and vulnerabilities;
  • describe different classes of attacks;
  • define types of incidents including categories, responses and timelines for response;
  • describe new and emerging TI and IS technologies;
  • analyze threats and risks within context of the cybersecurity architecture;
  • appraise cybersecurity incidents to apply appropriate response;
  • evaluate decision making outcomes of cybersecurity scenarios;
  • access additional external resources to supplement knowledge of cybersecurity;
  • minimize the threat of external attacks and viruses with successful countermeasures; and
  • implement general security services on various computer networks


Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.