• Online, Instructor-Led
  • Classroom
Course Description

ISACA's Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX) certification program supports cybersecurity professionals throughout their career by assessing a candidate's abilities and skills at three progressive technical skill levels. Levels are differentiated by skills, not by years of experience. Each technical skill level is assessed utilizing a vendor-neutral set of performance-based exams measuring a candidate's technical skills, abilities and performance in the following areas: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, and Recover.

The CSX Practitioner 1 course focuses on the first two domains within ISACA's CSX Practitioner certification exam Identify and Protect. Those who register for this ISACA authorized CSX Practitioner 1 prep course will learn how to apply industry-developed, experience-based methods to the identification of specific internal and external network threats. Additionally, students will learn the basic concepts, methods, and tools associated with implementing cyber security controls to protect a system from the identified threats.

This course, along with CSX Practitioner 2 and 3, was developed using existing global cybersecurity frameworks as well as input from hundreds of subject matter experts. Whether a student is planning to write the exam or learn more about Cyber Security, this course is packed with study tips and practical exercises.

Students who register for this official CSX Practitioner 1: Identification and Protection training seminar are provided with the following resources and features:

  • Five Days of Official ISACA Training from an Authorized CSX Practitioner Instructor
  • Official ISACA Courseware for CSX Practitioner 1: Identification and Protection
  • Official ISACA Study Guide for CSX Practitioner 1: Identification and Protection
  • Six Month Subscription to ISACA's Official OnDemand Labs for CSXP 1: Identification and Protection

Learning Objectives

Over the course of five days, students will cover everything they need to know to succeed in the CSX Practitioner 1: Identification and Protection exam.

  • C.I.A., Active / Passive Scanning
  • Availability / Authenticity
  • Asset Classification
  • Network Devices
  • OSI Model
  • Scanning
  • Enumeration
  • Penetration Training
  • Fingerprinting
  • Cryptographic Controls
  • NSIT / ISO Documentation
  • Network / Host Prevention Systems
  • Internal Log Processes
  • External Documentation
  • Host Logs
  • Activity Logs
  • Network Logs
  • Firewall Logs
  • IDS Logs
  • Encryption
  • Non-Repudiation
  • Multiple Factor Authentication
  • Information Classification
  • File System Access Control Mechanisms
  • Mobile Device Management Policy
  • Remote Access Solutions

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.